Share this release

Next Release

Chicken Lips
"Experience Of Malfunction"

After a long sabbatical one of dance music's most consistent players is back with a new killer LP.

It's been four years since the last offering from Chicken Lips. "Making Faces" was released back in 2006 and previously to that they released the classic LPs "Extended Play" in 2002 and "Echoman" in 2000. So with Chicken Lips celebrating ten years of dubbed out electronic wizardry, the release of this new LP couldn't have come at a better time. Chicken Lips are of course Andrew Meecham, Dean Meredith, Jonny Spencer and Stevie Kotey. Collectively they've amassed a track record that spans over two decades, they've had UK number one hits as "Bizarre Inc" and they have remixed the likes of Madonna, Robbie Williams, The Kills, Bell X1 and Simian Mobile Disco amongst many other happy customers.
With "Making Faces" Chicken Lips brought their song writing talents to our consciousness so "Experience Of Malfunction" gets back to the raw dirty analogue sound we know and love but there's also a twist! Whilst the synthesizers are back in full bloom, Jonny's trademark vocals are retained to give a cohesive edge to the music.
Tracks like "End Of The Beginning", "Kudashuda" and "She Fish" ooze Jonny's vocal class. Clearly inspired by David Bowie and maybe a touch of Bryan Ferry, Jonny's lyrics always tell a story and provide thought provoking messages throughout the album. The album also features some trademark Chicken Lips instrumentals that are aimed squarely for the floor; "OK Now", "Loty" and "On The Box" remind us that these are the guys that made the seminal club hit "He Not In".
So what is the "Experience Of Malfunction"? Well the clue is definitely in the name. When the armoury of vintage analogue synthesizers and drum machines are turned on there is often a sense of not knowing what exactly will happen. Often a tone made in the morning sounds completely different at night. Chicken Lips decided to make the most of the unpredictable nature of the malfunctioned machines in the studio and record everything.
"Experience Of Malfunction" is served on a bed of debauchery using synthesizers and drum machines garnished with that authentic Chicken Lips twist that no plug-ins could ever provide. Quite simply you won't hear anything like this out there at the moment! It feels great to welcome back an old friend.

All songs written by Andrew Meecham & Dean Meredith.
Except Tracks 2,5,8,10 Written by Andrew Meecham, Dean Meredith and Jonny Spencer.
Published by Copyright Control.
All music recorded,performed, produced and mixed by Andrew Meecham & Dean Meredith at Lipstudio 2 & Rogue Cat Sound.
Vocals recorded at Jonny tonic's Madrid, Spain.
Mastered by Wally Coelho at Masterpiece.
Design & Artwork by Luke Insect
(P) & (C) 2010 Lipservice Records

1. Loty
2. Ronsilver
3. No More
4. Bounty
5. Kudashuda
6. On A Stick
7. OK Now
8. She Fish
9. On The Box
10. End Of The Beginning